Skip to main content

I sat at a HS varsity event last week and had a dad sitting a few rows in front of me. I've been observing this man's "act" for a few years now. His son is a junior, talented but won't end up beyond a small school/low level in college (with his sport). They are lifetime club ballers and, no doubt, had bigger aspirations. The player is getting his moments in the spotlight but he and the team are struggling. The dad is knowledgeable in the sport and makes sure everyone knows it with the depth of his regular in-game criticism/shouts, mostly directed at his son but sometimes at other individual players and the team in general. The relationship is such that the son feels the need to regularly look up in the stands for dad's reaction.  I have seen Mom walk away from where Dad is sitting on more than one occasion.  She looks a bit emotionally beaten down to me.  Dad seems to be constantly somewhere between irritated and miserable. I have rarely seen him enjoy a moment of his son's HS experience.  It's ALL about his son's performance and whether the rest of the team's actions are helping or hindering that performance.  As his son's junior year is very nearly over, I fear that Dad is running out of time to "see the light".

We've all seen varying degrees of this play out time and time again.  I'm not sure why this particular one bothers me so much that I felt compelled to share.  I just see, clear as can be, that the future father-son relationship is going to suffer because, IMO, love for son is being manifested in a very counter-productive and likely harmful manner.

Parents can choose to be a positive support arm to their kids' HS experience and enjoy it together or they can choose otherwise.

Last edited by cabbagedad
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

This goes with something that has been weighing on me. Maybe it's better as a separate post, but it seems to fit here.