The answer key says D,  But depending on the severity of the actions.. A and B are not off the table.

Today's question.

LH batter runner on 1st.  Batter attempts a drag bunt, foul tips the ball into the catchers mitt.  Catcher attempts to throw behind the runner at 1st base.  The throw hits the batter who has both feet out of the box.

a. Legal

b. Batter is out - interference

c. Foul Ball

Yesterday's answer is B.  

Today's question.

B1 hits a ball to CF - it is caught.   The base umpire notices the CF has a 1st baseman's mitt.

a. B1 is out - mitt must be removed.

b. The offense has the option to replay the pitch.

c. B1 is awarded 3 bases - illegal equipment.

d. No infraction.  Any player may use a 1st baseman's mitt.

And a new streak starts.

The answer is D.  A 1st baseman's glove can be used at any position.

Today's question:

0-2 count - 2 outs B3 swings and makes contact on a ball that is thrown in the dirt and bounces into the air.  The tipped ball goes directly into the catchers glove and is caught.

a. Strike 3 - Runner out and may not advance.

b, Strike 3 - Runner may attempt to advance.

c. Foul ball.

I bet this one would cause all sorts of yelling at a game.  C

Maybe you should consider changing your screen name to TerribleQuizAnswerer.

It's a JOKE    :-)    :-)

@T_Thomas posted:

Maybe you should consider changing your screen name to TerribleQuizAnswerer.

It's a JOKE    :-)    :-)

The funny thing is coaches and parents always turn to me for rules during games! Granted, I've never seen most of these scenarios, but in youth and high school I'm sure you see all sorts of things.

That's a fascinating question - weirdly worded, but dissected to be - ball pitched, ball bounces in dirt, batter swing that tips ball, ball goes directly to catchers mitt, and is caught, A-yup very unusual...  The answers leave me perplexed because they indicate runner and not batter-runner ...

I'll answer things this way... A batter can hit a bounced pitch fair, right? Anyone disagree? So when determining hit/foul or not it only matters what happens after the batter makes contact with the ball.  Don't be fooled into your knowledge that a pitched ball must pass through the strike zone "in flight" to be ruled a strike if the batter doesn't swing (even on those dropped 3rd type situations).  Beyond that, consider if I had an 0-2 count, cared about OBP more than strikeout count, and I felt that a pitched ball was going to the backstop - why not swing & miss and run to first, especially with 2 outs... (think air-mailed to backstop or thrown badly in dirt that catcher would have no chance at fielding).  So the yelling would go from why are you swinging at that pitch to *run*!  Of course no one is yelling at the umpire that gets this right 

And the streak continues 

Yesterday's answer A. 

JohnF had the correct thought process.   Something in his reply caught my eye.  Maybe I read it wrong … "Don't be fooled into your knowledge that a pitched ball must pass through the strike zone "in flight" to be ruled a strike if the batter doesn't swing (even on those dropped 3rd type situations)."   I interpret this as saying a bounced pitch not swung at can be called a strike.

Yet 7.2.1.a reads …  A strike is charged to the batter when:   a. A pitch enters any part of the stroke zone in flight and is not struck at.

Today's question.

Runner on 2nd.  3-2 count batter swings and misses.  Ball deflects off catcher's glove and gets lodged in the plate umpire's uniform.

a. B1 is out.

b. B1 is awarded 1st base.

c. B1 out and R2 is awarded 3rd only if he was attempting to advance.

d. B1 is awarded 1st and R2 is awarded 3rd.

 

I am almost always agreeing with TerribleBP, so I am just as bad at answering questions.... I am actually good at throwing BP, though.

@Viking0 posted:

I am almost always agreeing with TerribleBP, so I am just as bad at answering questions.... I am actually good at throwing BP, though.

I used to be a great BP thrower until I messed my shoulder up. Apparently I was never good at the rules though...

@NewUmpire posted:

And the streak continues 

Yesterday's answer A. 

JohnF had the correct thought process.   Something in his reply caught my eye.  Maybe I read it wrong … "Don't be fooled into your knowledge that a pitched ball must pass through the strike zone "in flight" to be ruled a strike if the batter doesn't swing (even on those dropped 3rd type situations)."   I interpret this as saying a bounced pitch not swung at can be called a strike.

Yet 7.2.1.a reads …  A strike is charged to the batter when:   a. A pitch enters any part of the stroke zone in flight and is not struck at.

[...] 

You'll note I said "A-yup" ;-) as part of my first paragraph - it was a hint... 

"In flight" to me means it doesn't bounce...   Once it bounces no called strike, but I'm also not calling foul immediately if a batter swings at the bounced pitch and makes contact...  Imagine doing that and the ball is hit for a HR...  Quick let me grab the *other* end of the stick.

 

Add Reply

×
×
×
×
Link copied to your clipboard.
×