assuming 8th inning pitcher finished 8th inning and was not subbed for as a hitter, then he gets win and new pitcher gets save. 8th inning pitcher was still in game, pitcher of record, when team got lead.
texdex is correct. Until the relief pitcher actually enters the game, the pitcher who pitched the previous inning is the pitcher of record. So, if the relief pitcher enters the game in the 9th with a lead, he gets the save, the pitcher who completed the 8th inning gets the win.
In other words, the pitcher who pitched the 9th was not officially in the game when the team took the lead, so he can't be credited with the win. Hope that makes sense.
bballman, would this still be the case if the pitcher from the 8th inning was pinch hit for in the deciding top of the ninth? This happened last night in JV game last night (extra innings). The pinch hitter (for pitcher) actually scored the go ahead run.
The rule is effectively the same in all three codes. It is phrased most clearly in NFHS rules: 9-6-6 c. If a pitcher is removed for a pinch-hitter or a pinch-runner, the runs scored by his team during the inning of his removal are to be credited to his benefit to decide the pitcher of record.
Thanks for the rule quote 3. Logically, I would have figured that's what it would be because the new pitcher still has not entered the game. Can't credit him with the runs/score before he actually enters the game as a pitcher. The rule certainly helps clarify that.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .