Skip to main content

Replies sorted oldest to newest

TCU dominated in the 1930s and 1950s, but experienced three long decades of football mediocrity: from 1960 to 1998, TCU appeared on the AP poll only six times-- four of these in 1984, the year I graduated from the school.

Needless to say, I am very proud of my Frogs, who have come a loooooooong way.

It's a Cinderella story for sure -- not only for the team, but also for yesterday's Rose Bowl Offensive and Defensive MVP's:

School
http://ncaafootball.fanhouse.c...oing-purple-for-tcu/

Offensive MVP
http://msn.foxsports.com/colle...owl-challenge-123110

Defensive MVP
http://www.nytimes.com/2010/01...afootball/04tcu.html
Last edited by Infield08
I grew up in Fort Worth when TCU was considered a joke. It is terrific seeing them build programs in football and baseball to an amazing level - really amazing considering they have to compete with UT, A&M and OU for players. Great for my hometown, too. Rah rah TCU!

I live in Connecticut now, and look forward to seeing TCU play in person again.
TCU is having a great run. If coach Paterson could have come up with something other than " We won this for the little guys" in his post game interview. And said something like Yeah we sold out the little guys in the MWC to join the Big East so we could have the AQ with the BCS monopoly and not have to face Boise on an yearly basis, would have been novel
quote:
Originally posted by dswann:
TCU is having a great run. If coach Paterson could have come up with something other than " We won this for the little guys" in his post game interview. And said something like Yeah we sold out the little guys in the MWC to join the Big East so we could have the AQ with the BCS monopoly and not have to face Boise on an yearly basis, would have been novel

Novel but not true.