Skip to main content

I am a 15 y/o 2018 grad and have been sitting around 7.05-7.10 for my 60y/dash time for about a month or two. I think that if I get a better more powerful start then, I could break through the 7 second mark. Are there any workouts, stretches, etc. that I could use to help with the explosiveness in my start?
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

A few years ago, I experimented at our Area Code tryouts in Fresno. A track coach from Fresno State offered to assist in our pre-60 yard test. Each player ran the 60 yard and received their times

All players listened to the track coach and practiced as a group for 1/2 hour and then ran the 60 a second time. Improvements were instant.

Baseball players meet your local HS track coaches and request assistance.

"Self improvement"+ confidence = success.

Bob

Last edited by Consultant

I have a 2018 that's been working really hard with strength and speed the past few months.  In particular the 60 for the past six weeks.  Our speed guy started with an assessment to find areas of tightness or if there was anything out of alignment.  

Result: backside of hips were really raised and out of alignment causing a lot of glute/hamstring tightness.  Hip flexors and IT bands were also really tight making the glute/hamstrings even more tight.  He couldn't drive his legs, he couldn't activate the primary driver - the glutes.  Absolute zero knee drive.  Also, he wasn't breathing, totally taught in upper body with the grimace in the face.  Ugly looking runner for an extremely athletic kid.  I was perplexed.  He had been bummed going from a reputation as a quick kid to now one with avg speed.

My son was shown a lot of stretches to be done on Styrofoam roller, he was shown a way to use a lacrosse ball to grind into the hip flexor and IT bands twice daily.  After two weeks his glutes and hamstrings were more flexible.