Skip to main content

Tuzigoot,

I am all for PG events and the exposure they bring. Understand that a showcase when your not ready can hurt you just as easily as a great one when your playing well. It seems as if all this talk of showcase and camps have detoured the things that make you better. Like instruction, like great competition to push you, I don't know maybe I'm in the dark on this.

I can only talk of my experiences and if look back at what got me to the next level, it was the fact that I played for great coaches,(tried to learn as much as I possibly could) and we played great competition, locally in the Chicago area and then at the end of the season , on the National level.
If I am a College coach it is part of my job to find you, not you find me. For the marginal player , it might be a little different, send some emails hit a camp or two where you want to go, but don't forget the part about getting better.

Again, Perfect Game is something that is very good, I am just saying we as Summer teams can hit those and still play some good ball right here.
Had a conversation with a disappointed father recently.

He related a "problem" that came up when his son and a couple of his high school teammates were working out together in the off season as part of a competitive summer baseball team.

Check the IHSA rules on more than one or two kids from any one team working out for a "summer team" in the off season, i.e., the fall and winter.

Might put your own eligibility in question. Those kinds of matters seem to "crop up" after someone wins something.
As you said il2008, it has to do with players from the same team working out with the various adademies and receiving instructions. This has nothing to do with the summer programs. They can workout with the various summer teams up until the H.S teams are selected. Once that is done they must stop until the season is over and then they are free to go where they want.
quote: